The Facebook-owned Instagram just launched a new feature that allows users to set a timer and wipe out their profile after 24 hours.
The feature, called “Direct Break,” is meant to make sharing photos more efficient — or at least keep them from getting lost in all that other Instagram stuff.
It’s also meant to get users talking less about Facebook, so they’ll be more likely to use Instagram.
Which is good for Instagram. But the social network isn’t the only one to want to get rid of users.
Snapchat launched its own set of disappearing messages on April 19th. For $0.99 per, you can permanently remove photos, videos, and messages from all your other contacts.
Until this week, that was Snapchat.
At the end of the month, Instagram’s new option will wipe out all your old content. Users who didn’t opt in can access everything by heading to their profile or history page and clicking on their bio icon.
Gotta blame Facebook. You’re just getting a chance to ask for one back. https://t.co/AQ1jsPEGoI — Roy S. Johnson (@roysjohnson) June 9, 2018
The new feature is available on the web, Android, and iOS. It’s currently available in English only.
And it’s worth a look if you’re an Instagram user who frequently wants to share, but needs to get rid of. But there’s one notable thing about “Direct Break.”
I may have already put it to use.